January 26, 2019 | WNBL news

The Chemist Warehouse WNBL is pleased to announce that a WNBL Awards night will be reinstated to celebrate the 2018/19 season.

Recognising the achievements of the athletes, coaches and media through the 2018/19 season, the WNBL Awards night will be held on Monday, February 18 at La Trobe Financial events centre.

On the night, the following awards will be presented:

  • Betty Watson Rookie of the Year
  • Robyn Maher Defensive Player of the Year – presented by Robyn Maher
  • Coach of the Year – presented by Tom Maher
  • All-Star Five
  • Most Valuable Player
  • Media Awards

The careers of JCU Townsville Fire’s Suzy Batkovic and Belinda Snell of the Brydens Sydney Uni Flames will also be honoured on the night with a room full of past and present champions of the game expected to fill the room.

Megan Hustwaite from The WNBL Show podcast will emcee the Awards night and she will be joined by Cayla George of the Deakin Melbourne Boomers to host the red-carpet arrivals.

Head of the Chemist Warehouse WNBL Sally Phillips said, “It’s so exciting to bring an awards night back for the WNBL competition.

“Our athletes are world-class and I’m thrilled that we’ll be able to honour them for their outstanding performances across the season. It’s something we have really missed across the past few seasons and I am very pleased that we can make it happen again.”

Updates throughout the night will be provided on the WNBL social media channels and website.