Seven Consulting Opals Reveal WNBL Loaded Olympic Squad

March 27, 2024 | WNBL news

Basketball Australia has today announced a 26-player squad ahead of this year’s Olympics where the Seven Consulting Opals will look to push for another medal.

A 12-player team will be picked from the extended squad for Paris in July with the Olympics starting on the 26th.

Of the 26 players in the squad, 17 currently are playing in the Cygnett WNBL (with 7 of the 8 clubs represented) highlighting the world-class talent in the league.

Headlining the team are experienced Olympians Tess Madgen (Sydney Flames), Cayla George (Sydney Flames), and Lauren Jackson (Southside Flyers).

Townsville’s star foursome Zitina Aokuso, Steph Reid, Sami Whitcomb, and Alice Kunek have all been rewarded for their terrific seasons with Reid making her Opals debut in Brazil in the qualifiers.

Fan MVP Jade Melbourne and Betty Watson Breakout Player of the Year Alex Sharp will represent the UC Caps in the squad.

Robyn Maher Defensive Player of the Year Lauren Nicholson (Sydney Flames) and fresh from winning her third WNBL Championship Maddy Rocci (Southside Flyers) will look to stake their claims for their first Olympic berth.

Perth Captain and Vice-Captain Anneli Maley and Amy Atwell have been rewarded for their fantastic seasons where they led the Lynx to a Grand Final spot.

Adelaide Lightning’s rising star Izzy Borlase, Opals veteran Steph Talbot, Boomers Kristy Wallace and Captain Keely Froling round out the squad.

Last week’s Olympic draw conducted by Opals legend and former Australian captain Penny Taylor in Switzerland has Australia grouped in Pool B alongside host nation France, Canada and Nigeria.

Opals Head Coach Sandy Brondello said selecting the squad was an important step in preparations for Paris.

“It’s always an exciting time to announce an Olympic squad and I congratulate all the athletes. They all know what it means to play for Australia, and they all want the opportunity to represent their country at an Olympics,” Brondello said.

“Our squad is full of exceptional talent, and they will make the decision to pick a final 12 very difficult. We have Canada, Nigeria and France in our pool, so we are focused on that and what is required to get onto the podium.”

Congratulations to all the players on the selection we can’t wait to see what the Opals achieve.

Seven Consulting Opals Squad 

  1. Sami Whitcomb (Townsville Fire)
  2. Kristy Wallace (Melbourne Boomers)
  3. Jade Melbourne (UC Capitals)
  4. Steph Reid (Townsville Fire)
  5. Maddy Rocci (Southside Flyers)
  6. Georgia Amoore
  7. Shyla Heal
  8. Tess Madgen (Sydney Flames)
  9. Amy Atwell (Perth Lynx)
  10. Lauren Nicholson (Sydney Flames)
  11. Isobel Borlase (Adelaide Lightning)
  12. Steph Talbot (Adelaide Lightning)
  13. Bec Allen
  14. Alice Kunek (Townsville Fire)
  15. Alex Sharp (UC Capitals)
  16. Anneli Maley (Perth Lynx)
  17. Chloe Bibby
  18. Cayla George (Sydney Flames)
  19. Ezi Magbegor
  20. Darcee Garbin
  21. Alanna Smith
  22. Keely Froling (Melbourne Boomers)
  23. Marianna Tolo
  24. Zitina Aokuso (Townsville Fire)
  25. Lauren Jackson (Southside Flyers)
  26. Lauren Scherf

Head Coach: Sandy Brondello

Assistant Coach: Cheryl Chambers

Assistant Coach: Paul Goriss

Assistant Coach: Shannon Seebohm