Boomers celebrate high-flyers

February 22, 2019 | Melbourne Boomers news

The Deakin Melbourne Boomers 2018/19 WNBL campaign has been celebrated at the Club’s annual end-of-season Presentation Night on Thursday night at the ANZ Heritage Building in Melbourne.

A budding group of Boomers supporters ‘frocked up’ to toast the on-field performance and off-field excellence from players and club personnel.

A number of accolades were presented on the night to acknowledge the spectacular efforts across the season.

The night’s top honour, the prestigious Most Valuable Player was awarded to exciting point guard Lindsay Allen.

The top award reflects the American import’s electrifying first season with the Boomers, averaging 18.2 points and 5.3 assists per game.

The 23-year-old was named in the WNBL Team of the Week on five occasions, Player of the Week twice and was the November Play of the Month in what was an impressive first campaign.

Along with the Most Valuable Player award, Allen further cemented a memorable debut to the WNBL by also receiving the Members’ Player of the Year Award.

Prior to joining the Boomers last year, the rising star played for elite college side Notre Dame before being selected at pick 14 in the 2017 WNBA draft by the New York Liberty. Allen was then signed by the Las Vegas Aces for the 2018 WNBA season after being waived by the Liberty.

“Thank you to the coaching staff, it’s an honour to be awarded MVP – especially amongst all of my great teammates,” said Allen.

“You guys made it a fun environment, but you also challenged us every single day. We knew that we were in great hands and that you guys would put us in the best position out there on the court.”

It has also been recently disclosed that the reigning MVP will return to the Boomers for the 2019/20 WNBL season.

“I also want to announce my intentions to come back for next season. I can’t wait to get started,” added Allen.

Hosted by media personality Jason Bennett, a further six other awards were presented on the night.

Jenna O’Hea also capped another successful season as captain taking out the Players’ Player of the Year, while young guns Ezi Magbegor and Chelsea D’Angelo were acknowledged for their exceptional individual development.

The Boomers Coach’s award went to Maddie Garrick following her fourth season with the Boomers.

To round out the evening volunteer Lucas Christodoulou was recognised for his dedication to the Club, while Gaylene McKay was presented with the Club’s highly regarded Linda Perry Award.

Club Chairman Tony Hallam expressed his gratitude to all those that supported the Boomers for another great season of WNBL.

“The support we’ve received from all of our sponsors, partners, supporters and members has been fantastic this season, we can’t thank all of you enough,” said Hallam.

“On behalf of all our fans and members we would also like to thank our players, coaches, staff and volunteers for their hard work and professionalism over the season.

“Our players and staff can hold their heads high after another successful year of positive growth as we now look forward to the 2019/20 WNBL season ahead.”

Naming rights sponsor, Deakin University, also acknowledged the exceptional talent and valuable partnership with the Boomers.

Deakin University’s Director of the Deakin Sport Network Professor David Shilbury congratulated the Deakin Melbourne Boomers on another winning season for women’s sport.

“The Boomers symbolise the growth of women’s participation in sport – from grassroots basketball at the local level to elite competitions nationally and internationally,” he said.

“Deakin University is committed to inspiring women to achieve at the highest possible level, on and off the court or field through the growth of women’s sport, and the Deakin Melbourne Boomers are a great part of that story.”

2018/19 Deakin Melbourne Boomers Award Winners

Most Valuable Player: Lindsay Allen

Players’ Player of the Year: Jenna O’Hea

Members’ Player of the Year: Lindsay Allen

AVJennings Volunteer of the Year: Lucas Christodoulou

Coach’s Award: Maddie Garrick

Most Improved Player of the Year: Ezi Magbegor

Deakin SENS High Performance Player of the Year: Chelsea D’Angelo

Boomers Spirit Award – Linda Perry Award: Gaylene McKay