Cambage Wins Boomers MVP: Michele Timms Medal

January 25, 2018 | Melbourne Boomers news

Liz Cambage has capped a memorable return to the WNBL by winning the Deakin Melbourne Boomers MVP, the Michele Timms Medal.

Deakin University hosted the Club’s annual awards night where Cambage was presented with the top award for the season. A further seven awards were presented on the night.

Jenna O’Hea also capped a successful return to the Boomers Family with two awards, while young forwards Ash Grant and Kalani Purcell were recognised for their outstanding personal progress.

Long time volunteer John O’Brien was recognised for his continued dedication, while Tony Hallam was presented with the Club’s prestigious Linda Perry Award.

Strengthening the partnership with Deakin, Britt Smart was named the SENS High Performance Player of the Year.

2017/18 Deakin Melbourne Boomers Award Winners

MVP – Michele Timms Medal: Liz Cambage

Players’ Player Award: Jenna O’Hea

Members’ Award: Jenna O’Hea

AVJennings Volunteer of the Year: John O’Brien

Coach’s Award: Kalani Purcell

Most Improved Player: Ash Grant

SENS High Performance Player of the Year: Britt Smart

Boomers Spirit Award – Linda Perry Award: Tony Hallam