January 18, 2022 | Perth Lynx news

The 16 strong Opals squad that will head to the training camp in Sydney from 31 January- 4 February in preparation for the FIBA Women’s World Cup Qualifying Tournament in Serbia was named today.

Two Perth Lynx athletes have been included. Darcee Garbin and Sami Whitcomb will suit up for the Opals.

“It’s a massive honour to be included. Anytime I’ve been lucky enough to put on an Opals uniform it’s such a special experience and I’m just grateful to compete for that opportunity again!” – Sami Whitcomb

“It’s a massive honour to be included in the squad and I’m always grateful for the opportunity. Opals camps are always so competitive and I can’t wait to get to camp and go up against the best players in the country” – Darcee Garbin

Coming home following her new appointment as the New York Liberty Head Coach Sandy Brondello will again take up the reigns as the Opals Head Coach at the camp in Sydney. Sandy is happy to be home and looking forward to working closely with the squad.

“I haven’t been able to come home to Australia for way too long, I have been watching the WNBL games and I’m really impressed with the performances of the girls and it’s exciting to finally get on a court with them.  The qualifying games in Serbia will be fierce, the competition is always tough at the international level, so this camp is a pivotal time for us to prepare. I will be meeting some players for the first time while others I have worked with for years but that’s a great challenge to have as a coach. We have a lot to do in short period of time but I know this squad is committed to the task so I can’t wait to get on the plane and get started.”

Following the camp the final 12 athletes will be chosen for the FIBA Women’s World Cup Qualifying Tournament in Serbia from 10-13 February where Australia have drawn Korea, Serbia and Brazil in their group.


Sami Whitcomb        Perth Lynx
Shyla Heal                Sydney Uni Flames
Maddi Rocci             Southside Flyers
Rebecca Cole          Southside Flyers
Lauren Nicholson     Townsville Fire
Tess Madgen            Melbourne Boomers
Jade Melbourne       UC Capitals
Steph Talbot             Adelaide Lightning
Sara Blicavs             Southside Flyers
Anneli Maley            Bendigo Spirit
Alanna Smith           Adelaide Lightning
Ezi Magbegor          Melbourne Boomers
Darcee Garbin         Perth Lynx
Abby Bishop            Southside Flyers
Cayla George          Melbourne Boomers
Zitina Aokuso          Townsville Fire