Mansfield, Ebzery in Opals 16-strong squad

August 16, 2019 | Perth Lynx news

The Australian Opals squad for the FIBA Asia Cup has been cut down to 16, with Perth Lynx stars Lauren Mansfield and Katie-Rae Ebzery named in the group.

The latest squad announcement comes following training camps in Arizona and on the Gold Coast.

The squad is brimming with talent and experience with three Olympic medals and 12 total World Cup Medals spread throughout the 16 players.

“With many of our players in the WNBA, and the uncertainty of the playoff seedings at this time, the coaches and I have decided to name a squad of 16 with the final team to be announced closer to our departure to Asia Cup and once we know who will be available from the WNBA,” said Opals Head Coach Sandy Brondello.

The Asia Cup will also be a chance for the team to prepare for their Olympic campaign, with the qualifying stages beginning this November.

“Asia Cup is an important tournament and with our limited time together moving forward into the November and February Qualification, we would like to have our best team together as much as we can. While injuries have prevented some players availability, our depth continues to shine through.

“We feel this squad has the right balance of players in every position in order for us to perform well.”

The Opals will be in Group B for the Asia Cup, alongside seventh-ranked China, as well as New Zealand and the Philippines.

Australia will be eager to go one better than their 2017 Asia Cup Campaign, where they lost in the final 73-74 in a nail-bitter against Japan.

The Opals first game will be 24 September against the Philippines.

Rebecca Allen – New York Liberty
Abby Bishop – JCU Townsville Fire
Sara Blicavs – TBC
Elizabeth Cambage – Las Vegas Aces
Katie Ebzery – Perth Lynx
Darcy Garbin – JCU Townsville Fire
Cayla George – Deakin Melbourne Boomers
Eziyoda Magbegor – Deakin Melbourne Boomers
Lauren Mansfield – Perth Lynx
Leilani Mitchell – Phoenix Mercury
Lauren Nicholson – Adelaide Lightning
Jenna O’Hea – Southside Flyers
Nicole Seekamp – Adelaide Lightning
Stephanie Talbot – Minnesota Lynx
Marianna Tolo – UC Capitals
Sami Whitcomb – Seattle Storm