Mansfield, Ebzery named in Opals Olympic Qualifying Squad

December 12, 2019 | Perth Lynx news

Perth Lynx stars Lauren Mansfield and Katie Ebzery have been named in the Australian Opals squad ahead for the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament.

The tournament will take place in Bourges, France from 6 February to 9 February 2020 and will be the final qualifying step for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

For the Opals to qualify for the Tokyo Olympics they will need to finish in the top three of their group, which includes France, Puerto Rico and Brazil.

The Opals are currently sitting 2nd on the FIBA World Ranking, the highest of the four teams, with France sitting at 5th, Brazil at 15th and Puerto Rico at 23rd.

During this February period, the WNBL will break, giving the Australians the opportunity to put forward their best possible team.

Head Coach Sandy Brondello said that the coaching group have chosen a strong selection of players ahead of the tournament.

“We have named a squad of 20 players for selection for the all-important pre-Olympic tournament in France in February,” Brondello said.

“The coaches and I will be evaluating all players over the upcoming weeks and will select a team that we believe will get the job done of qualifying for the Olympics in July.

“With only two days to prepare for these games, it is important that the team is fit, healthy and ready to perform to the best of their ability.

“It is great to include Alanna Smith for the first time this year as she returns to playing in the WKBL (Women’s Korean Basketball League).”

The Chemist Warehouse Australian Opals Squad

Rebecca Allen: Arka Gdynia Poland / New York Liberty

Abby Bishop: JCU Townsville Fire

Sara Blicavs: Jayco Southside Flyers

Elizabeth Cambage: Shanxi Xing Rui Flame/ Las Vegas Aces

Katie Ebzery: Perth Lynx

Darcee Garbin: JCU Townsville Fire

Cayla George: Deakin Melbourne Boomers

Kelsey Griffin: University of Canberra Capitals

Tessa Lavey: Bendigo Spirit

Tess Madgen: JCU Townsville Fire

Ezi Magbegor: Deakin Melbourne Boomers

Lauren Mansfield: Perth Lynx

Leilani Mitchell: Jayco Southside Flyers

Lauren Nicholson: Adelaide Lightning

Jenna O’Hea: Jayco Southside Flyers

Nicole Seekamp: Adelaide Lightning

Alanna Smith: Incheon Shinhan Bank S-Birds/ Phoenix Mercury

Stephanie Talbot: Adelaide Lightning/Minnesota Lynx

Marianna Tolo: University of Canberra Capitals

Sami Whitcomb: LMA France / Seattle Storm