Four Flyers Featured In 2020 Opals National Squad

July 15, 2020 | Southside Flyers news

A year out from the Tokyo Olympics, Basketball Australia has announced the Australian 2020 Chemist Warehouse Opals Squad, featuring four Southside Flyers.

Congratulations to Sara Blicavs, Bec Cole, Jenna O’Hea and Leilani Mitchell who have all been selected in the squad of 23 as the national team looks forward to the Tokyo Olympics next year and the FIBA World Cup in Sydney in 2021.

The four players join Flyers head coach and Opals assistant coach Cheryl Chambers in the National Program.

Basketball Australia confirmed the squad can be added to at any time and declared performances during 2020 will be a major consideration prior to the Opals coaches announcing an Olympic squad early next year.

Rebecca Allen Valencia, Spain/New York Liberty
Zitina Aokuso JCU Townsville Fire
Sara Blicavs Jayco Southside Flyers
Elizabeth Cambage Las Vegas Aces
Rebecca Cole Jayco Southside Flyers
Katie-Rae Ebzery Perth Lynx
Darcee Garbin Perth Lynx
Cayla George Deakin Melbourne Boomers
Kelsey Griffin* University of Canberra Capitals
Shyla Heal JCU Townsville Fire
Tessa Lavey Bendigo Spirit
Tess Madgen Deakin Melbourne Boomers
Ezi Magbegor Seattle Storm/Deakin Melbourne Boomers
Tiana Mangakahia Syracuse University, USA
Leilani Mitchell* Washington Mystics/Jayco Southside Flyers
Lauren Nicholson JCU Townsville Fire
Jenna O’Hea Jayco Southside Flyers
Maddie Rocci University of Canberra Capitals
Jaz Shelley University of Oregon, USA
Alanna Smith Phoenix Mercury/Adelaide Lightning
Stephanie Talbot Adelaide Lightning
Marianna Tolo University of Canberra Capitals
Sami Whitcomb* Perth Lynx

*Restricted Player, only one can be named in a final term of 12.