Celebrating 15 Years of the Flames at Sydney Uni

October 18, 2018 | Sydney Flames news

In Round 2 we are celebrating 15 years of the Flames at Sydney Uni with FREE CAKE for every fan!


Brydens Sydney Uni Flames vs. Melbourne Boomers


Brydens Stadium (Sydney Uni Sports & Aquatic Centre)


Sunday 21 October, 1pm tip-off


Get your tickets HERE.


Sydney has a strong history in the WNBL with both Sutherland and Bankstown representing the harbour city as foundation members of the league in 1981. In 1989, there was only one Sydney team known as the Sydney Bruins, which transformed to the Sydney Flames by 1992. In 1993 Carrie Graf coached the side to a Championship with players such as current General Manager Karen Dalton (375 games for the club), Annie Burgess, Robyn Maher & Shelley Sandie.

The Club were extremely successful over the next few years adding Opals stars, Michelle Timms and Trish Fallon, along with many others. They won a championship as the Sydney Panthers in the 2001/2002 season, before changing the name back to the Flames and featuring in six Grand Finals over the next seven seasons. During this time, Sydney University took ownership of the Flames in 2003. Despite featuring in many Grand Finals, the runners up tag was all to familiar, until 2016/17 when the Brydens Sydney Uni Flames defeated Dandenong to claim the WNBL Championship.

The Flames have boasted many Australian Opals representatives across the years, including Suzy Batkovic, Kristen Veal, Natalie Porter, Alicia Poto, Michelle Musselwhite, Leilani Mitchell and Katie-Rae Ebzery, along with currentĀ Flames Belinda Snell, Alex Bunton and many more.