Flames trio selected in Opals’ squad for Paris Olympics

March 27, 2024 | Sydney Flames news

The Australian Opals squad for the 2024 Paris Olympic Games was unveiled on Wednesday and is headlined by three Sydney Flames.

Opals skipper Tess Madgen, WNBL23 MVP Cayla George and WNBL24 Defensive Player of the Year Lauren Nicholson were all unveiled on Wednesday as part of Sandy Brondello’s 26-person squad.


Joining the Hoops Capital trio in the squad for the XXXIII Olympiad are Rebecca Allen, Zitina Aokuso, Georgia Amoore, Amy Atwell, Chloe Bibby, Isobel Borlase, Keely Froling, Darcee Garbin, Shyla Heal, Lauren Jackson, Alice Kunek, Ezi Magbegor, Anneli Maley, Jade Melbourne, Stephanie Reid, Maddison Rocci, Lauren Scherf, Alex Sharp, Alanna Smith, Stephanie Talbot, Marianna Tolo, Kristy Wallace and Sami Whitcomb.

As well as numerous training camps, the Opals will also take part in a tour of China (from May 26/26 to June 3), a tour of Japan (June 16/17 to 23) and fixtures on home soil in Melbourne – from June 26 to July 7 (with opponents to be confirmed).

Watch Lauren Nicholson’s incredible WNBL24 highlights video via Sydney Flames’ YouTube channel above. While you’re there, be sure to hit subscribe, to ensure you never miss out on any of our great videos.

Opals head coach Sandy Brondello said selecting the squad was an important step in preparations for Paris.

“It’s always an exciting time to announce an Olympic squad and I congratulate all the athletes,” Brondello said.

“They all know what it means to play for Australia, and they all want the opportunity to represent their country at an Olympics.

“Our squad is full of exceptional talent, and they will make the decision to pick a final 12 very difficult.

“We have Canada, Nigeria and France in our pool, so we are focused on that and what is required to get onto the podium.”

Stay up to date with all the Hoops Capital side’s off-season news here.