Froling named in FIBA Women’s Asia Cup Final Team

September 1, 2021 | Sydney Flames news

Congratulations to Flames own Keely Froling who has today been named in the Opal’s FIBA Women’s Asia Cup team headed to Jordan next month.

The final team was finalised this week with 12 players and two reserves chosen from the squad who were available for selection. Due to travel restrictions and quarantine requirements a number of players have not made themselves available for selection for Asia Cup.

The team will be lead by Head Coach Paul Gorris and Assistant Coach Kristen Veal the current Women’s Centre of Excellence Head Coach.

Following the announcement Gorris said “the team we have selected for Asia Cup brings together youth and experience with players from around the world.”

“It’s great to have Sami Whitcomb and Bec Allen commit (depending on WNBA finals), their experience and leadership playing at a high level in the WNBA will help this young group.”

“It’s a great reward for some of the stellar play in recent WNBL seasons for the likes of Nicholson, Rocci and Garbin. We have some young bigs and the experience they will gain from this will help the Opals in the future in preparation and readiness for the World Cup.”

“I am confident we have the balance of speed, defense and grit for us to be competitive next month.”

The 29th edition of the FIBA Women’s Asia Cup will take place in Amman, Jordan from September 27 – October 3, 2021.  Australia have drawn China, Chinese Taipei and the Philippines in Group B.

Australia’s opening match is against Chinese Taipei on September 27.

The Tokyo 2020 Olympic rematch between China and Australia will be played on September 29.

The full schedule of games is available here:


Sami Whitcomb* New York Liberty, USA
Rebecca Allen New York Liberty, USA/ Valencia, Spain
Maddison Rocci Southside Flyers
Jazmin Shelley University of Nebraska, USA
Tiana Mangakahia Northside Wizards, QLD /Dynamo, Russia
Lauren Nicholson JCU Townsville Fire
Kristy Wallace Melbourne Tigers
Alexandra Sharp Perth Lynx
Darcee Garbin Perth Lynx
Keely Froling Bryden Lawyers Sydney Uni Flames
Zitina Aokuso JCU Townsville Fire
Lauren Scherf Perth Lynx

*Restricted Player  Sami Whitcomb
Abbey Wehrung  Adelaide Lightning
Jade Melbourne  Canberra Capitals