Hoops Capital unveils 2023-24 award winners

April 4, 2024 | Sydney Flames news

Hoops Capital, the entity that encapsulates the Sydney Kings and Flames, has unveiled its award winners for the 2023-24 seasons.

The two top gongs from the campaign, the two MVP awards, went to Kings’ Jaylen Adams and Flames’ Lauren Nicholson.

During the NBL24 season, the St. Bonaventure University alum averaged 19.4 points, 5.3 assists and 3.2 rebounds per game, while Sutherland junior Nicholson produced 16.7 points (third best in the WNBL), 3.8 dimes and 3.5 boards each contest.


Other Kings award winners this season included Alex Toohey (Michael Wrublewski Coaches’ Award), Adams (Players’ Player), Jordi Hunter (Defensive Player of the Year sponsored by Acorn) and Shaun Bruce (Hard Yakka Hard Work Award).

The top performers from Guy Molloy’s side were Emma Clarke (Coaches’ Award) and Nicholson (Players’ Player and Defensive Player of the Year) – backing up her WNBL Defensive Player of the Year recognition.

While most of the awards were voted on by the club itself, there were two that weren’t, the Kings members’ MVP award, brought to you by Hostplus, and the Flames fans and members’ MVP which went to Jordi Hunter and Nicholson respectively.

Rounding out the prizes awarded were Hoops Capital trio Michael Johnstone, Katrina Lindner and Courtney Ward who deservedly took out the prestigious Laurie Watterson Club Person of the Year for their work on the first-ever Pink Hoops event.

“The success of the Pink Hoops event was significant for Hoops Capital,” said Hoops Capital CEO Chris Pongrass.

“It is rare for a club to identify, create and execute a major charity initiative to the standard of quality Hoops Capital did for this event.

“A long-term legacy event is now a tentpole in the Kings and Flames’ seasons.

“To deliver to this standard, planning, effort and passion are essential.


“The event was delivered during the busiest period of the 2023-24 season, with seven games played in a two-week period.

“While many people in the business contributed to the success of the event, special credit should be given to Katrina Lindner, Michael Johnstone and Courtney Ward – who were collectively selected by their peers as the Laurie Watterson Club Person of the Year.

“Those three created a planning committee, met regularly, identified opportunities to build interest in the event,  worked with the McGrath Foundation and worked across the business to ensure everyone understood and delivered on their responsibilities.

“We thank them for their hard work, dedication and willingness to go above and beyond for the organisation.”

Previous winners of the Laurie Watterson Award are:

  • 2011: Laurie Watterson
  • 2012: Ben Madgen
  • 2013: Ben Madgen
  • 2014: Michael McAlpine
  • 2015: Richard Bradley
  • 2016: Ben Knight
  • 2017: John Davidson
  • 2018: Jason Cadee
  • 2019: Kevin Landon
  • 2020: Toby Banfield
  • 2021: Katrina Lindner
  • 2022: Fleur McIntyre
  • 2023: Chris Ohlback

Stay up to date with all the harbour city club’s off-season news here.