January 16, 2018 | Townsville Fire news

Batkovic crowned WNBL MVP

JCU Townsville Fire captain Suzy Batkovic’s position in the pantheon of WNBL greats has been enhanced today with a record-extending sixth league MVP.

During another blistering season, Batkovic (117 votes) edged out Melbourne centre Liz Cambage (104) and Perth guard Courtney Williams (95) to be named the competition’s premier player.

Presently on the cusp of a fifth WNBL championship, Batkovic, who will lead the Fire into Thursday night’s second Grand Final with a 1-0 advantage over the Boomers, finished the 2017/18 regular season ranked inside the top-five for points, rebounds, steals and blocks.

“It’s extremely humbling,” Batkovic said.

“I was somewhat taken back when I was informed, but it’s a real honour to be named league MVP again.

“Every year I take the floor doing everything I can for my team to get us into a position to win a title, and fortunately we’re in that position now, so hopefully we can close out the series.”

Over the course of the season, Batkovic averaged 20.5 points and 10.0 rebounds including 13 double-doubles.

Having clinched a hat-trick of WNBL MVPs between 2011-12 and 2013-14 before finishing third in the 2014-15 count behind Abby Bishop and Cayla George.

Batkovic has repeated the milestone with a further three consecutive MVPs to move two clear of legendary teammate, Lauren Jackson, who boasts four of her own.

Kathy Foster won three MVPs in the 1980s to sit third on the list, while Karen Ogden, Robyn Maher, Debbie Slimmon, Rachael Sporn, Penny Taylor and Katrina Hibbert are the only other players to boast two.

The WNBL MVP is calculated on a game-by-game basis with the home coach, away coach and referees all handing down 3-2-1 voting cards.

A player can receive a maximum of nine votes from any one game.

The JCU Townsville Fire congratulate Suzy Batkovic on winning the 2017/18 WNBL MVP.

2017/18 WNBL MVP Votes

  1. Suzy Batkovic (JCU Townsville Fire) 117 votes
  2. Liz Cambage (Melbourne Boomers) 104 votes
  3. Courtney Williams (Perth Lynx) 95 votes
  4. Asia Taylor (Sydney Uni Flames) 85 votes
  5. Sami Whitcomb (Perth Lynx) 82 votes
  6. Stephanie Blicavs (Dandenong Rangers) 57 votes
  7. Abby Bishop (Adelaide Lightning) 55 votes
  8. Jenna O’Hea (Melbourne Boomers) 55 votes
  9. Jennifer Hamson (Sydney Uni Flames) 54 votes
  10. Nicole Seekamp (Adelaide Lightning) 52 votes