Batkovic says there is no place like home

June 28, 2018 | Townsville Fire news

JCU Townsville Fire captain Suzy Batkovic knows there is no place like home after returning to North Queensland this week following her European playing stint.

During another unstoppable season for the Fire, Batkovic enhanced her legacy as one of the game’s most accomplished stars, leading the club to their third title in four years en route to capturing her sixth WNBL MVP and seventh All*Star Five gong.

The 37-year-old then captured the only individual trophy missing from her overflowing cabinet as she was named the Rachael Sporn Medallist for the Grand Final MVP after simply willing her side to victory.

Batkovic was simply breathtaking against Liz Cambage and the Melbourne Boomers in the best-of-three series as she averaged 22.3 points, 12 rebounds and two assists to consolidate her position in the pantheon of WNBL greats.

Upon arriving at Townsville Stadium today, the 334-game veteran said her desire to capture a sixth WNBL championship still motivated her ahead of her 17th season in the competition.

“I think there’s something wrong with me, for some reason it (motivation) hasn’t worn off yet,” Batkovic said.

“I’m a competitive person, I haven’t lost any love of the game and it helps I’m at a club I love.

“It’s nice to walk into the stadium today and see that trophy, there’s still fire in the belly.”

While the Fire won’t officially commence pre-season until September, Batkovic will resume training next week alongside head coach Claudia Brassard.

The Fire have one final roster position to announce for the 2018/19 WNBL season with the club confirming they are on a global search to secure a second import to aid their title defence.

The WNBL is also expected to announce their schedule for the up-coming season shortly, with the Fire scheduled to host 11 home games at Townsville Stadium this summer.

Click here to become a member of the JCU Townsville Fire.

JCU Townsville Fire squad: Zitina Aokuso, Suzy Batkovic, Stella Beck, Micaela Cocks, Mikhaela Donnelly, Darcee Garbin, Tess Madgen, Laurin Mincy and Casey Samuels.