Fire crown stars at Loloma Jewellers MVP

January 25, 2018 | Townsville Fire news

JCU Townsville Fire captain Suzy Batkovic has continued her record-breaking season for the club with a fifth consecutive Loloma Jewellers MVP.

During a golden 2017/18, Batkovic has been awarded her seventh WNBL All*Star gong, sixth WNBL MVP, fifth WNBL championship and her first Rachael Sporn Medal after leading the Fire to victory at the weekend.

The Fire captain was an unbackable favourite for her fifth straight club award, moving past former captain Rohanee Cox who claimed four in succession from 2005/06 to 2008/09.

Having been announced in the Opals’ Commonwealth Games squad yesterday, two-time championship winner Darcee Garbin won the Coach’s Award for the second time in three seasons after enjoying a breakout year for the Fire.

Three-time champion Micaela Cocks secured the Denis Russell Commitment to Excellence Award for the third time in seven seasons – previous wins chalked up in 2011/12 and 2013/14 – as well as her third Players’ Player Award after previous wins in 2011/12 and 2012/13.

For the first time in club history, the Fire inducted two life members with Game Commissioner John Davies and championship-winning captain Rachael McCully the inaugural recipients.

Since 2001/02, Davies has served as the Game Commissioner for the Fire, overseeing 191 home matches over the past 17 seasons in a voluntary capacity.

McCully played a record 228 games for the Fire including the 2014/15 championship before retiring from the WNBL.

The two-time WNBL Defensive Player of the Year has subsequently been a part of the Fire’s coaching staff for the 2015/16 and 2017/18 championships.

Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk was on hand to present the pair with their life memberships.

Fire General Manager Richard Goodbody said the five recipients were all thoroughly deserving of their acknowledgements and was delighted to present them at the Loloma Jewellers MVP at Townsville RSL.

“The 2017/18 WNBL season has been another memorable one for the JCU Townsville Fire,” Goodbody said.

“The Fire continues to build a dynasty with our ninth trip to the post-season in the past decade, five of the past six WNBL Grand Finals, and of course, our third championship in four seasons.

“Our captain, Suzy Batkovic, was simply brilliant again, while Darcee and Micaela’s efforts within the group have been acknowledged.

“I would like to pay special tribute to the contribution that both John and Rachael have made on our club.

“In my opinion, there is no higher mark of respect that a sporting club can bestow on its players and officials than life membership.

“I couldn’t think of two more deserving people than John and Rachael.”

The JCU Townsville Fire congratulate this year’s award winners on their success.

JCU Townsville Fire Honour Roll

Suzy Batkovic – Loloma Jewellers MVP

Darcee Garbin – Coach’s Award

Micaela Cocks – Denis Russell Commitment to Excellence

Micaela Cocks – Players’ Player

John Davies – Life member (official)

Rachael McCully – Life member (player)