Britt Sykes and Kelsey Griffin named in WNBL First and Second Teams

April 5, 2022 | UC Capitals news

Defensive Player of The Year, Britt Sykes, joins the season’s best talent in the WNBL All-Star First Team alongside Jackie Young (Perth Lynx), Anneli Maley (Bendigo Spirit), Steph Talbot (Adelaide Lightning) and Ezi Magbegor (Deakin Melbourne Boomers).

Captain Kelsey Griffin was named in the WNBL All-Star Second Team, joining a dominant lineup consisting of Lindsay Allen (Deakin Melbourne Boomers), Marina Mabrey (Perth Lynx), Alanna Smith (Adelaide Lightning) and Cayla George (Deakin Melbourne Boomers).

The two teams are selected by coaches and captains at the end of the season from a list of 20 players who received MVP votes during the regular season.

Coaches and captains can’t select players from their own team. Players are selected on their season performance rather than position.